Alaska Court Records
CourtRecords.org is an independent source of public records information, and is not owned by or affiliated with, any local, state, or federal government agencies
Alaska Sex Offenses and Why They are Different
Sex offenses in Alaska have complicated aspects to them. Many victims of sex crimes do not recover effortlessly from the emotional and psychological trauma inflicted on them by the offender. Therefore, sex offenses in Alaska are serious crimes as far as state laws go. The consequences for sex crimes for the offender exist to ensure that the damages done to the victim are paid for by the perpetrator. The Alaska state laws enforce this by implementing mandatory registration exercises for a period. Sometimes registration will last a lifetime. The registration records are available for the public to identify the offender. It serves two purposes: to punish the offender and to protect the public from further assaults. The Alaska legislature defines and interprets all categories of sex crimes in the state.
What is Alaska Sex Crime?
Alaska state definitions for sex crimes encompass all forms of sexual practices that the law defines as unlawful. State definitions of crimes consider the age of the offender or victim, the capacity to make a decision, the presence or absence of consent, and the impact of the offense on the victim or the public. Most of the state’s definitions of crime are quite similar to that of federal definitions. Therefore, either authority can prosecute a sex crime that takes place in Alaska.
What are the Different Types of Sex Offenses?
A wide variety of sex offenses come under two major categories in Alaska:
- Sexual assault: the state laws categorized sexual assault in four degrees:
- First-degree assault ranks the highest, while fourth-degree assault is the least in terms of severity. First-degree assault happens when a person engages in sexual penetration without the victim’s consent by inflicting injury or force, taking advantage of the victim’s incapacity or supervisory authority. It also includes sexual penetration by an offender with a professional responsibility to the victim, such as a healthcare worker, knowing that the victim was not conscious. It is a class A felony. The penalties for sexual assault attract a minimum of 25 years in prison and a maximum of 99 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines, depending on the presence of other issues such as felony assault on a minor or a repeat felony assault.
- Second-degree sexual assault refers to sexual contact with another person under the same circumstances as first-degree assault but not penetration. It also includes some cases of sexual penetration of persons mentally incapable of consent or unconscious. It is a class B felony that attracts a minimum of five years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. Repeat offenses attract longer prison terms for up to 99 years.
- Third-degree sexual assault represents all forms of sexual contact under the following circumstances- victims between the ages of 18 and 19 years, persons held in correctional institutions on probation, in commitment, or custody. It is a class C felony that attracts at least a two- year prison term and a fine of $50000. First felonies attract the mildest penalties, and repeat felonies increase the duration of imprisonment accordingly.
- Fourth-degree sexual assault varies from third-degree sexual assault in terms of invasiveness. Otherwise, the circumstances of the crime are the same. Being the mildest of all sexual assault definitions in the state, it is a class A misdemeanor. The offense is punishable by up to one year of imprisonment and a fine of up to $25000.
- Statutory rape: There are four degrees of statutory rape:
- First-degree rape entails sexual penetration of a victim under 13 years of age. Offender classifications here include being 16 years or older, the offender being a caregiver of the victim, or the offender occupies one position of authority concerning the victim. It is an unclassified first-degree felony that attracts a minimum of 20 years in prison and a $500000 fine.
- Second-degree statutory rape involves sexual penetration of:
- Victims between the ages of 13 to 15 years old and are at least four years younger than the offender;
- Victims under 13 years old by offenders 16 years and above;
- Victims under the ages of 18, where the offender is a caregiver or in a position of authority over the victim;
- Victims under 13 years old when the offender is 18 years and above and engages in sexual conduct;
Sixteen-year-old offenders who induce victims under 16 years old to engage in child pornography also belong to this category. These all fall under class B felonies, which attracts prison sentences of at least five years and a $100000 fine.
- Third-degree statutory rape involves offenders 17 years old and above and victims at least four years younger than the offender, but within the age bracket of 13 to 15 years. A class C felony attracts up to five years in prison and a $500,000 fine.
- Statutory rape in the fourth degree is a class A misdemeanor punishable by a jail term of up to one year and a $25,000 fine. Fourth-degree statutory rape includes sexual contact by offenders of 16 years old and below and a victim below 13 years old where the age difference is at least three years. Another fourth-degree statutory rape scenario is when the offender is 18 years and above, having some authority concerning the victim. The victim is at least three years younger in an age bracket of 16 and 17 years. Being a class A misdemeanor, it is punishable by up to one year in prison and a $25000 fine.
- Incest: engaging in sexual penetration between people who are related by blood is a class C felony.
- Indecent exposure
- Online seduction of a minor; soliciting the cooperation of a minor online for sexual activity, or engaging them in online viewing of sexual images and related offenses. It is a class B felony. If the offender is a registered sex offender, it becomes a class A felony.
- Indecent exposure: the first-degree rating of this crime involves exposing one’s genitals to persons under 16 years of age for gratification. Adjoining issues include masturbation and repeat offenses. All of these are class C felonies. A second-degree classification of this crime involves exposure with intent to insult, frightening, or offend the viewer. Viewers below the age of 16 years grade it as class A misdemeanor, and older viewers grade it to a class B misdemeanor.
Sex Offender Levels of Classification in Alaska
There are two levels of sex offender classification in Alaska, premised upon aggravation or number of convictions.
- A single aggravation offense attracts a lifetime registration every three months. The same rule applies to multiple non-aggravation violations.
- A single non-aggravation offense attracts 15 years of continuous annual registration. All sex offenders must notify the registration office of changes in residential address, mail, usernames, social media handles, and electronic mails by the next working day. Failure to update a registration when due or notify change of details is a class C felony under the Alaska laws.
How Do I Find A Sex Offender Near Me in Alaska?
Locating a sex offender in the neighborhood will require looking up the register at any of the registration offices across the state. A list of offenders in an area is easily accessible at the registration office that serves the area. Local law enforcement agencies also keep accounts of persons charged with sex offenses.
Alaska Sex Offender Registry
The Alaska sex offender registry enters and maintains a file of persons with a sex offense conviction in the State. This information is available on the State Department of Public Safety website that provides registrant information by:
- Contact addresses
- Registration status
It allows users to access all registrants’ details at a time, for free. A regular update goes on during normal business working days. The website provides users with the option of searching for registrations based on location by using the mapping tool. This way, a user can determine how close they live to a sex offender in their neighborhood.
Records that are considered public may be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching simpler, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:
- The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
- The location or assumed location of the record or person involved. This includes information such as the city, county, or state that person resides in or was accused in.
Third-party sites are independent from government sources and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party sites may vary.
What are the Sex Offender Restrictions in Alaska?
Although the penalties for sex offenses in Alaska are stiffer than in other states of the federation, there are no clear-cut restrictions to work or residency in Alaska. However, some sex offenders coming into a state that does not require registration are subject to work and residency restrictions. Repeat offenders are also subject to local authorities’ restrictions and on discretion by house owners and employment agencies.